Android port

Guest afeder

So, I am not saying this would be easy by any means, but have any consideration gone into porting 0 A.D. to the Android platform?

Clearly, the UI would need to be rethought, but I have to say, mobile does seem like the future of gaming: I don't want to have to be chained to the PC to have fun. Also, it's very easy to market a game through Android Market - a 'donation version' could be made, giving generous users the option to pay a small sum for the download, thus creating a modest source of revenue for the project.

What I know, or think I know, about porting to Android is that it would probably involve using the Android NDK. Particularly, the game would probably have to use OpenGL ES for graphics, instead of whatever API it uses now, and OpenSL ES for audio.

What other complications you can think of?

Edited by afeder

All sorts. I am not a programmer or contributor to this project, so I do not have anything to back up my claims. But personally, I believe an RTS game like 0 A.D. doesn't make sense for current and near-future mobile platforms. Besides, you would almost have to create a whole new game in order to get it going on e.g. a tablet. The maps and models would probably be too much to handle for the hardware, and even if you got that going, it would be a pain to get all the assorted libraries etc. working as expected.

Finally, I think if any Android port should happen, it should happen AFTER, not before, the first part of the game is finished. Splitting up development effort in order to do too much at once is what many projects have fallen victim to, and their development usually halts and possibly never reboots into something tangible.

As said, this is only my opinion, so don't take it too seriously. :)